Away with Personal Devotions! part 1

Let me be clear on one thing: I would never discourage anyone from reading their bible. I would only encourage people to read it more and more faithfully.

Let me define “personal devotions”- an individual worship time, usually involving reading the bible and prayer.

Some people call it a “quiet time” or “time with the Lord.” I grew up being encouraged to have daily “quiet times” and it often involves a journal. For me today, it always involves a cup of coffee.

I would never discourage anyone from reading their bible. I would only encourage people to read it more and more faithfully.

The one thing I would discourage today: let us stop making Christians feel like “personal devotions”– whether you had one today and how consistent you are in having them– are one of the key measures for Christian maturity.

Three reasons:

  1. It is never commanded
  2. Christians need to be taught the Bible
  3. The Christian life is never meant to be mainly “personal”

I will tackle these in subsequent posts. Related to number 2, please consider coming to this event in January

One response to “Away with Personal Devotions! part 1

  1. Page 50 of this little booklet I’m reading says “Elders should have personal and family devotion times with the Lord just like everybody else.” πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

