Mom, I’m an alcoholic

“Mom, I’ve had something to tell you for a long time, but I was afraid of how you might respond.”

“Go ahead, son.”

“I’m an alcoholic.”

“ok…”

“I know that’s not how you raised us, but I can’t deny this about myself any longer.”

“But you know what the Bible says…”

“Yeah, yeah, I know what the Bible says. But the Bible says all kinds of stuff like ‘don’t eat shellfish’ and ‘women should be silent in churches’, are we gonna obey all that too?”

“Son, I was just going to say that the Bible doesn’t call it alcoholism, it calls it drunkenness.”

“Mom, I’m just trying to be true to myself!”

“The truth is we are all born sinful…”

“How dare you say that! You’re saying this is the same as murder?”

“I didn’t say exactly that…”

“Are you not going to accept me anymore just because I’m being who God made me to be. I’m an alcoholic and I’m proud of it! Don’t be so bigoted! This is the problem with all you Christians, you think you’re better than all of us!”

“I love you. You will always be my son. You could be a drunk for the rest of your life and I will never stop loving you.”

“Tell me you think it is good and right and holy and Christ-like to be an alcoholic, or I’m going to sue you, mom.”

Just want you to know what the cultural conversation sounds like to Bible-saturated Christians. Brothers and sisters in Christ, be prepared for real bona-fide persecution, like this story. And know that it is going to be ok. It is not our calling to “win back America.” It never was. Our kingdom is not of this world.

Leave a Reply

