I confess that I am confessional

I have grown in my appreciation for history ever since becoming a pastor. There are many reasons for that, but I am not going to share those right now. What I want to share is one of the results of that: I have come to love Presbyterians more and more.

I disagree wholeheartedly with Presbyterians on the issue of infant baptism. But I still love them and am thankful for them. The main confession that most Presbyterians would find their roots in is the Westminster Confession of Faith from the 17th century. The main confession that most Baptists will find their roots in is the London Baptist Confession, also from the 17th century (unknown to many, the first Baptist Confession came before Westminster, though the London Confession was a little bit after Westminster).

If you are not familiar, you would be amazed at how similar the Westminster Confession of Faith and the 1689 Baptist Confession of Faith are. In fact, they are basically the same except for two articles, namely, the church and baptism. Again, I disagree wholeheartedly with Presbyterians on the definition of the church and baptism. And those are obviously important, important, important issues. But my Presbyterian pastor friend would agree with 30 of 32 articles from the 1689 Confession! 30 of 32! I cannot find remotely that much camaraderie with any denomination that baptizes believers. Presbyterians would not find that much camaraderie with any denomination that baptizes infants.

We believe the same gospel, preach it the same way, believe the Holy Spirit works the same way, believe the Lord’s Supper is administered the same way, believe so many things the same way. Our disagreements are the reason we cannot be a part of the same church, but o how glad I am to know that there are churches that are confessing so many of the exact same things in the exact same way to the exact same degree.

Leave a Reply

