Preaching the OT is as hard as I thought

Lord willing, I start preaching through the book of Deuteronomy tomorrow. Pray for me, please. Pray that I will be faithful to God’s Word, that I will help people see Christ in the OT, and that I will preach to glorify God and not please man.

One interesting note already: Deuteronomy 1.5 says Moses took to “expound” the Law. It does not say that the words he was about to speak was necessarily a prophecy directly from God the way much of Mt. Sinai was. Deuteronomy is most likely a sermon, though it has the same feel as prophecy. Preaching and prophecy do not seem to be identical, though the results seem to be. That is why when the word is rightly preached, it is God speaking. I like to call prophecy “preaching without sermon prep.”

Leave a Reply

