New Preaching Milestone!

This is probably not that exciting for most, but I am pretty sure this week will be my 40th sermon in the gospel of John (John 14.1-12). This is so much fun! God has used the gospel of John to grow me so much in my faith, and I have seen God use it to grow many others in our church. This still remains a dream come true, to be able to expositionally work my way through books of the Bible with one church family. I love it! Praise the Lord! Two years ago I could not imagine that I would be doing what I am doing right now.

It has been a challenge. Many Thursdays, Fridays, and even Saturdays have come where I was so unsure if I had the text right, but God has ALWAYS been gracious. Once I had to completely change the portion of the text and the outline on a Saturday. It is always a struggle to remain in author’s intent, and not try to run off with too much of my own theological hobby horse with certain texts (many opportunities in John!). I have been amazed at how well the congregation has received things like: God’s wrath remains on those who reject the Son (John 3.36), only those the Father draws come to him (John 6.44), and He blinded their eyes and hardened their hearts (John 12.40). The sheep seem to recognize the Shepherd’s voice!

Leave a Reply

